• 812-682-4474

This exhibit seeks to illustrate post communal daily life as part of Historic New Harmony’s daily tours. Robert Dale Owen and David Dale Owen are thought to have commissioned the building of the house; however none of the Owens’ ever lived in the building. The house was built by carpenters John Bondaley and J.B. Johnson, and architects Swift and Barter. From 1830-1838 the Owen brothers owned the house and rented it to more than ten families.

<< Back to Play & Explore