Thrall’s Opera House
612 E. Church St., New Harmony, Indiana 47631
Originally built by the Harmonists as the fourth and last dormitory, it was completed shortly before they departed New Harmony in 1824. The Owen-Maclure community used the space for a variety of purposes from a multi-family dwelling, to a warehouse, to a venue for hosting lectures and dances. In 1859, the structure was purchased by the New Harmony Dramatic Association and renamed Union Hall. The building was transformed into a theater and was home to a famous local acting company, the Golden Troupe. In 1888, Eugene Thrall became the sole owner and the theater was renamed Thrall’s Opera House. For a short time from 1911 to 1913, the Opera House was a nickelodeon movie house until it was purchased in 1914 and turned into a gas station and garage. In 1964, the space was purchased by the Harmonie Associates, who persuaded the state of Indiana to purchase, restore, and maintain the site.
Explore the Golden Troupe history further on one of Historic New Harmony’s tours which start at the Atheneum.